Fledgling Activities | The Night is my Domain

If you’ve been reading this chronologically, you’ll know that I had an incredibly large breakfast and a massive slice of cheesecake today. As such, I thought it’d be proper to do some exercise. (Well, I’ve been planning this since the weekend, but those are details.. )

Anyway, I went to try Shuang Yang (Soft Crane Boxing) between 19:30-20:30. It’s a kind of martial art from Southern China that also includes Tai Chi and Qi Gong exercises. I’ve been interested in doing this for the past couple of years, but I’ve never had the chance in Vancouver.

So, I ventured down to Forum!


Looks like the Vancouver Public Library!

Okay, so not only did it look like the Vancouver Public Library, but Forum’s energy was like Vancouver’s during the day; bustling, bright lights, cars zooming by, squished buildings with narrow corridors. It felt like home away from home!


This statue reminds me of the tuning fork in front of UBC.

This is the Royal Danish Academy of Music!

I didn’t take any photos during my martial arts class, but Teo, my half Danish instructor, was very kind and patient. I went in with no knowledge and came out with some things to work with. The class was incredibly kind and friendly! I was actually a bit surprised. Karen, one of the pupils, even offered to drive me back home if it was along the way. 🥰 Unfortunately, I was a bit too surprised to properly understand what she was asking me at the time. It was really kind of her to offer!

Among all the Danes I’ve met, these people at the martial arts club were the friendliest because they actually reached out and engaged with me on a personal level. They were locals! 🇩🇰🇩🇰🇩🇰 I look forward to engaging with again!

A small plug: if you’re studying abroad and like me, you want to engage with locals , join a club! DIS hosts an Activities Fair for DIS students! They had 2-3 floors of activities booths and you can sign up for clubs you’re interested in. There were choices from casual sports teams to faith groups.


I’m personally interested in trying their Dungeons and Dragon’s club.. but it interferes with my martial arts club.. Hmm, we’ll have to see how that works out. 🧘🏻‍♂️🐉

It was quite dark by the time I returned home, but I honestly felt secure the entire time.

As a female-identified student from Canada with clear features of Asian descent, heading to a stereotypically homogenous country such as Denmark, should be daunting for anyone who lives their life, aware of how ethnicity, race, and gender affect one’s interactions.

At Black+Blue in Vancouver with my grandma, sister, and uncle!

And, yet, there are various reasons why it’s not daunting at all.

01. Denmark is very welcoming!

As I’ve mentioned in plenty of posts, the Danes are absolute dolls when it comes to helping a lost stranger out. Not everyone is all smiles and sunshine (it rains and snows here), but most of them smile back if you smile at them!

02. Everyone over the age of 8 speaks English. AND! I’ve been told by various Danes and locals that Danes love to speak English.

Why? Because they don’t really get a chance to speak it so they love to practice. That being said, Danes love it when you try to speak their language. If you’re coming to DIS, take their Danish Language course and apply to stay with a Host Family for the best culturally immersive experience!

Oh, you mean why as in, why do they all know English? Well, Danish education requires them to learn 2-3 additional languages starting at Grade 3. The best thing is that they’re actually incredibly fluent in the languages they speak.

Oh, Canada. We’ll get there yet. 😆

03. The night is quiet, beautiful, and safe. (WITHIN REASON)

In Vancouver, I would rarely go out walking late at night. There just isn’t a lot of people out in my area. But, in Copenhagen, I have that freedom. I have no qualms with going out because there’s always somebody still around. It comes with the size of the land, I imagine.



04. Transportation is quick, convenient and reliable.

What more is there to say?

WELL ACTUALLY…

I was only on the Metro for 20 minutes and I watched 4 people get ticketed for not purchasing a metro ticket…

Two Metro Station Attendants are writing tickets!

It’s a 715 DKK fine.. That’s around $145 CAD.. 🥶

As DIS students, we get a 3 zone pass. That gets us to most places, but not all places. Make sure to check where you’re going and if they’re within the zones before getting on the transportation. The attendants are all very helpful in directing us to places, but they’re also here to do their jobs.

The final two who were fined were actually students. I didn’t know who they were and I don’t think they were with DIS, but they tried to argue with the attendant. The rules for our Dot Transportation pass are:

  • For the sole use of the owner (Do not try to say your friend or family is sharing your pass unless you’re purchasing your own)
  • It only works between the listed dates (Your arrival date and final school day)
  • It works for a limited number of zones (Check where you’re going!)
  • When an attendent comes up to you, fish out your Dot pass and you’ll be thanked for your promptness!

Alright so, I went on a tangent, but as you can see, I’m two weeks in, and I haven’t had any issues with being an Asian woman in Copenhagen. Of course, that doesn’t mean we should completely throw caution to the wind, but I’m slowly settling and Copenhagen is already starting to feel like home. 😌

Ground rules for today:

  • If you’re going outside your permitted zones, please please please make sure to purchase a ticket!
  • Join a club and get connected with locals!
  • Fear not this night! Venture out and see the beauty of Cope under the evening skies.
  • Always remember what follows; Final Boss: School
Godnat (Good Night!

Leave a comment